An Inbuilt Fault

Image of Westerman - An Inbuilt FaultImage of Westerman - An Inbuilt FaultImage of Westerman - An Inbuilt Fault
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>

About this item

Westerman — the London-born, Athens-based pop maverick — has returned with his new album, ‘An Inbuilt Fault’.

The album’s nine songs took shape throughout the depths of the pandemic, and soundtrack Westerman’s reckoning with two years of intense isolation, loneliness, heartbreak, and dread. Through it all, the album is visceral and live-sounding, full of the sound of breath and the idiosyncratic gestures of acoustic instruments. It creates a spatial feeling, sounding like musicians assembled in a room, passing evolving ideas back and forth. Co-produced with producer & percussionist James Krivchenia (Big Thief), ‘An Inbuilt Fault’ musically references everything from Talk Talk’s delightfully strange and ethereal brand of pop, David Byrne’s bag of rhythmic tricks, Cat Stevens’ fireside warmth and much more.

‘An Inbuilt Fault’ follows Westerman’s acclaimed 2020 debut ‘Your Hero Is Not Dead,’ a graceful and self-reflective project which earned him a spot as one of the most talked about new artists of the year thanks to profiles from Pitchfork (‘Rising’), Stereogum (‘Artist To Watch’), and Rolling Stone (‘Artist You Need To Know’).


1. Give
2. Idol; RE-run
3. I, Catallus.
4. CSI: Petralona
5. Help Didn't Help At All
6. A Lens Turning
7. Take
8. An Inbuilt Fault
9. Pilot Was A Dancer

Back to top