Joyce Street

Tied Down

Image of Joyce Street - Tied Down

About this item

A ’70s homemaker stuck between the studio and a getting dinner on the table, Joyce Street eked out an arresting countrypolitan discography in the margins of an otherwise traditional American life. With lyrics drawn from the pages of her diary, Street’s stirring Mississippi warble led her into the fly-by-night world of custom studios, cutting tracks for upstart country concerns like Reena, Sonobeat, Revelation, and Arc. Channeling the honky tonk angel energy of Bobbie Gentry, Lorretta Lynn, and Jeannie C. Riley, Tied Down compiles a decade’s worth of melodies disguised as lottery tickets.


Side A:
1. Life Ain’t Worth Livin’ (If I Can’t Have You)
2. That Man Of Mine
3. Woman Do Something Nice
4. Mississippi Moonshine
5. Don’t Make Me Cry
6. Tied Down
7. Music Soft And The Lights Down Low
Side B:
8. California You’re Slippin’
9. The Good Book Says It’s Wrong
10. Back Streets Of Your City
11. Love In My Heart
12. When You Belong To Me
13. California You’re Slippin’ [Demo]
14. Lost Highway

Back to top