Hiatus Kaiyote

Choose Your Weapon - Deluxe Reissue

Image of Hiatus Kaiyote - Choose Your Weapon - Deluxe Reissue
Record Label

About this item

Wrapped in soul, blending poetry and polyrhythms, the music of Hiatus Kaiyote is in a lane all by itself.

The 18-track, 70-minute odyssey from the Melbourne, Australia-based band takes listeners on a journey through the group's self-created ecosystem, populated with songs each embodying its own mini-cinematic sonic soundscape. The album is the hotly anticipated follow-up to their celebrated 2013 debut album "Tawk Tomahawk". Fans have already gotten a taste of what's to come on Choose Your Weapon by way of their December 2014 EP, By Fire, which featured three of the album's 18 tracks.

""By Fire" is a burial song," says frontwoman Nai Palm, about the personal track. "It discusses the creative and destructive forces of fire and uses this element as a reference point to express about my father passing away in a house fire."


Side A
A1. Choose Your Weapon
A2. Shaolin Monk Motherfunk
A3. Laputa
A4. Creations Part One
A5. Borderline With My Atoms

Side B
B1. Breathing Underwater
B2. Cicada
B3. Swamp Thing
B4. Fingerprints
B5. Jekyll

Side C
C1. Prince Minikid
C2. Atari
C3. By Fire
C4. Creations Part Two

Side D
D1. The Lung
D2. Only Time All The Time: Making Friends With Studio Owl
D3. Molasses
D4. Building A Ladder

Bonus 7”
A1. Breathing Underwater (Roman Soto Cello Rework)
B1. Making Friends With Studio Owl (Club Mix)

Back to top