The Groundhogs

Roadhogs: Live From Richmond To Pocono

Image of The Groundhogs - Roadhogs: Live From Richmond To Pocono
Record Label
Fire Records

About this item

An essential rock artefact tracing The Groundhogs from their pre - ‘Thank Christ For The Bomb’ blues roots to the final live show for the classic line up of Tony McPhee (guitar and vocals), Pete Cruikshank (bass) and Ken Pustelnik (drums). Never before heard recordings from the Warner Brothers’ vaults including a vintage 1969 set from their show at the Richmond Athletic Ground (AKA The Crawdaddy Club) and their final explosive set at the Pocono Raceway track. Includes the live debut of what would become the anthemic ‘Cherry Red’ and McPhee’s seismic destruction of ‘Amazing Grace’. A career-spanning gem from the ultimate heavy rock power trio book-ending 976 days and 250-plus live shows. “In their stage act they concentrate on being as heavy and as hard-hitting as possible.” The Scene magazine. “Performing on stage we feel that the emphasis is on excitement so we play the numbers that involve the greatest amount of movement and dynamics,” Tony McPhee told Star Pop.


A1 Cherry Red (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969)
A2 Mistreated (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969)
A3 Natchez Burning (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969)
B1 BDD (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969)
B2 Times (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969) 
C1 Still A Fool (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969) Side 
D1 Group Intro (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969)
D2 No More Doggin' (Richmond Athletic Ground, London - 1969) 
E1 Eccentric Man (Pocono Raceway, Pennsylvania - 8th July 1972)
E2 Music Is The Food Of Thought (Pocono Raceway, Pennsylvania - 1972)
E3 Cherry Red, Split Part 2 (Pocono Raceway, Pennsylvania - 1972) 
F1 Still A Fool, Amazing Grace (Pocono Raceway, Pennsylvania - 1972)

Back to top