The Charlatans

A Head Full Of Ideas - Limited Vinyl Box Set Edition - 2022 Reissue

Image of The Charlatans - A Head Full Of Ideas - Limited Vinyl Box Set Edition - 2022 ReissueImage of The Charlatans - A Head Full Of Ideas - Limited Vinyl Box Set Edition - 2022 Reissue
<< prev Image Slideshow next >>
Record Label
Then Records

About this item

THE CHARLATANS proudly announce their (Covid) delayed release of their 30th Anniversary tour and a 6 vinyl LP Box Set. Released on Then Recordings through Republic Of Music, ‘A Head Full Of Ideas’ is a five album, and exclusive 7”, career-spanning box set that sums up their remarkable progress from 1990 Manchester scene hopefuls to one of the UK’s most enduring and best-loved bands. The accompanying tour begins at Belfast, Limelight 22/11/21 and finishes in Aberdeen on 20/12/21.

The band have notched up 13 Top 40 studio albums - three of them number ones - alongside 22 hit singles, four of them top 10. The rollercoaster highs have been accompanied by some shattering lows, any which one of them could have felled a less resilient band, from nervous breakdowns to near bankruptcy and the deaths of two founder members.

Somehow, they have not just carried on but adapted and transformed. The classic Charlatans sound - driving Hammond organ, Northern Soul and house-influenced rhythms, swaggering guitars and Tim Burgess’s sunny yet somehow yearning vocal - is instantly recognisable. And in spite of everything they have been through their music is now more relevant than ever, The Guardian described their last album, Different Days as “one of their best ever”.

This limited box set, is a diverse collection portrayed over five Transparent blue vinyl LP’s, spanning their hits, classic live performances, unheard demo’s and rarities and remixes. Within the box will also be an exclusive Original Demo’s 7” featuring ‘Indian Rope’/’The Only One I Know’, as well as a signed print of a tour poster from the early 90’s, a booklet featuring unseen photographs and sleeve notes by friend and journalist Dave Simpson. There will also be triple vinyl LP version and 2CD deluxe of the box set featuring the hits albums plus the live album, and finally a cd or vinyl of just the hits albums.

Their iconic and hugely adored live track One To Another (circa 1997) provides the titles for the individual vinyl collection within the box set. Each piece of vinyl is named after a lyric from the song.


THEN1LPXX (6x Vinyl Set Box Set)
A1) The Only One I Know
A2) Weirdo
A3) Can’t Get Out Of Bed
A4) Jesus Hairdo
A5) Just When You’re Thinking Things Over
A6) North Country Boy
B1) Tellin’ Stories
B2) One To Another
B3) How High
B4) Impossible
B5) Forever
C1) Love Is The Key
C2) A Man Needs To Be Told
C3) Up At The Lake
C4) Blackened Blue Eyes
C5) Oh Vanity
D1) My Foolish Pride
D2) Come Home Baby
D3) Let The Good Times Be Never Ending
D4) Plastic Machinery
D5) Totally Eclipsing

A1) Polar Bear (Blackburn, King Georges Hall. November 1990 - BBC Radio 1)
A2) Indian Rope (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)
A3) Can’t Even Be Bothered (Reading Festival 1992 - BBC Radio 1)
A4) Can’t Get Out Of Bed (Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC Radio1)
A5) I Never Want An Easy Life (If Me And Him Were Ever To Get There) (Glasgow Tramway, Sound City 1994 - BBC Radio1)
B1) Then (Glastonbury Festival 1995 - BBC Radio 1)
B2) Here Comes A Soul Saver (Hultsfred Festival, Sweden 1997)
B3) My Beautiful Friend (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)
B4) The Blind Stagger (Delamare Forest, Cheshire 2007)
B5) Sproston Green (Reading Festival 1999 - BBC Radio 1)

A1) C’mon C’Mon (Demo Version)
A2) Sleepy Little Sunshine Boy (Desk Mix Version)
A3) Dardanella (Demo Version)
A4) So Oh (Demo Version)
A5) Always On My Mind (Demo Version)
B1) Everybody Ha Ha (Demo Version)
B2) Commuter Computer (Demo Version)
B3) Crystal Eyes (Demo Version)
B4) Polar Bear (Demo Version)
B5) I Need You To Know (Demo Version)

A1) Plastic Machinery (Sleaford Mods Remix)
A2) Nine Acre Dust (Chemical Brothers Remix)
A3) So Oh (Brian Jonestown Massacre Remix)
A4) Tellin’ Stories (The Go! Team Remix) **unreleased**
B1) Trouble Understanding (Norman Cook Remix)
B2) My Beautiful Friend (Jagz Kooner Remix)
B3) Hey Sunrise (The Orb Remix) **unreleased**
B4) You’re So Pretty, We’re So Pretty (Lo Fidelity Allstars Remix)

A1) Indian Rope (Demo)
AA1) The Only One I Know (Demo)

Back to top