The Dears

Lovers Rock

Image of The Dears - Lovers Rock
Record Label
Dangerbird Records

About this item

Montreal’s The Dears are in some run of form. Their music has always been quality but they have been releasing a steady flow of really excellent orchestral pop/rock music that began with 2015’s Times Infinity Volume One. The sister album, 2017’s Times Infinity Volume Two pushed the bar a little higher and here we are again, eighth album Lovers Rock is another superb collection of songs about love, romance, yearning and heartbreak. The core members Murray Lightburn (vocals/guitar/other) and Natalia Yanchak (vocals/piano) are joined this time round by longtime drummer Jeff Luciani, Steve Raegele (guitar) and Rémi-Jean LeBlanc (bass). Additional musicians making up their glorious sound are Sam Roberts (strings) and not one but two saxophonists, Alex Francoeur and the E Street Band’s Jake Clemons.


1. Heart Of An Animal
2. I Know What You're Thinking And It's Awful
3. Instant Nightmare!
4. Is This What You Really Want?
5. The Worst In Us
6. Stille Lost
7. No Place On Earth
8. Play Dead
9. Too Many Wrongs
10. We'll Go Into Hiding

Back to top