“Blue” Gene Tyranny And Peter Gordon

Trust In Rock

Image of “Blue” Gene Tyranny And Peter Gordon - Trust In Rock
Record Label
Unseen World

About this item

Trust in Rock documents the last evening of an epic concert series held at Berkeley's University Art Museum in November 1976, featuring an all-star ensemble of the Bay Area's most unclassifiable musicians performing works by "Blue" Gene Tyranny and Peter Gordon. This band, and this concert, played at the nexus of New Music, jam bands, "pattern music," and punk. Tyranny had quit Iggy Pop's band in 1973; Gordon had already moved to New York and began playing with Arthur Russell and Rhys Chatham. Their combined band crossed styles and institutions and time, and was assembled from the effervescence of the Bay Area scene in the 1970s. It included Gordon on saxes and the RMI Synthesizer; Tyranny on the piano; local video-performance artist Patrice Manget on vocals; Karl Young on saxes; composer-performer-guitarist Paul Dresher, who played in Tyranny's band Edge of the Road along with percussionist Gene Reffkin; Steve Bartek of the Mystic Knights of Oingo Boingo on bass; and Mills College student Janet Cuniberti on the funky Clavinet and RMI Synth.

Tyranny's direct and profound songs are "concerned with influence, trust, self-reliance, and having to re-do what is true for you;" Gordon’s songs, with lyrics by then-partner Kathy Acker, give the performance a sexual and political edge, complimenting the intensity of his instrumental works. Though some of the works on Trust in Rock also appear on Peter Gordon's Star Jaws and "Blue" Gene Tyranny's Out of the Blue, many others are available here for the first time. At this performance, Gordon, Tyranny, and their band were not afraid to take the time to "listen to the interior state of something," as Tyranny later put it: they put their trust in rock.


CD1 - "Blue" Gene Tyranny
1. Without Warning 20:33
2. Leading A Double Life 06:44
3. On The Other Hand 20:36
4. Next Time Might Be Your Time 09:04

CD2 - Peter Gordon
5. Machomusic 07:55
6. God's A Man 11:04
7. When Baby Gets Wet 05:53
8. Cloves And Cinnamon 09:02
9. Intervallic Expansion 27:28

LP1 - "Blue" Gene Tyranny
A1. Without Warning 20:33
B1. On The Other Hand 20:36

LP2 - "Blue" Gene Tyranny (C1-2) / Peter Gordon (D1-2)
C1. Leading A Double Life 06:44
C2. Next Time Might Be Your Time 09:04
D1. Machomusic 07:55
D2. God's A Man 11:04

LP3 - Peter Gordon
E1. When Baby Gets Wet 05:53
E2. Cloves And Cinnamon 09:02
F1. Intervallic Expansion 17:56

Back to top