Howard Hello

Election Year

Image of Howard Hello - Election Year

About this item

RIYL: The Microphones, Will Oldham, Bon Iver, Jim O’rourke. Features members of Pinback, Tarentel, Sleeping People, Rumah Sakit, Dilute, and more. After more than ten years apart, multi-instrumentalist songwriters Marty Anderson (Dilute, Okay) and Kenseth Thibideau (Tarentel, Sleeping People) have reconnected to resurrect Howard Hello. Originally founded to craft music inspired by the American Zeitgeist, Election Year finds Howard Hello returning to familiar themes: The dichotomies of reality and illusion; organic and synthetic; sincerity and irony; faith and fact.

These themes, however familiar, are perhaps no more confusing and confounding than right now in present-day United States (hence the album's title). Musically Anderson and Thibideau use music as an analogy, fusing abstract and traditional instrumental textures with angelic, distorted layers of vocal accompaniment. Their collaborative connection is extraordinary and rare, symbiotic craftsmen of profound meditations that are as fascinatingly weird as they are irrefutably wonderful. 


1. The Split (1:04)
2. Achilles Heel (3:52)
3. Simon Say (3:55)
4. Greenhouse (5:13)
5. Witness (4:45)
6. Vote (2:38)
7. MCD (4:43)
8. Out (4:41)
9. Money Mouth (3:20)
10. Sunny (4:37)
11. MAD (3:01)

Back to top