Jefre Cantu-Ledesm

A Year With 13 Moons

Image of Jefre Cantu-Ledesm - A Year With 13 Moons
Record Label
Mexican Summer

About this item

A master of romantic abstraction, Jefre Cantu–Ledesma is not new to the scene. In fact, he's been releasing a steady stream of music for nearly twenty years. With the brilliant album A Year With 13 Moons, however, the ever–prolific Ledesma appears to be hitting a new high. Or low, depending on how you like to see things.

Using a friend's reel to reel tape player, Cantu employed electric guitar, modular synthesizer, drum machine and concrète sounds from his surroundings at the Headlands, recorded while walking to the studio, cooking in the kitchen, talking with friends, the ocean, films he was watching, driving in a car. Everything was record stereo to tape.

The result is gorgeous, haunting and sprawling. A companion to his last full length LP, Love is A Stream, (Type, 2010), 13 Moons, is a dense, swirling mass.


1: The Last Time I Saw Your Face
2: Love After Love
3: Disappear
4: Mirror Of Past & Future
5: Interiors
6: Pale Flower
7: The Twins / Shadows
8: Agate Beach
9: The Spree
10: Early Autumn
11: A Portrait Of You At Nico's Grave, Grunewald, Berlin (For Bill K.)
12: Remembering
13: Görlitzer Park
14: Along The Isar
15: At The End Of Spring
16: Remains

Back to top