Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Abbatoir Blues / Lyre Of Orpheus

Image of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Abbatoir Blues / Lyre Of Orpheus
Record Label

About this item

English guitarist and organist James Johnston joined The Bad Seeds for their thirteenth studio album ‘Abattoir Blues/The Lyre Of Orpheus’, which was released on September 20th 2004 by Mute Records, and produced by Nick Launay.

This masterful double album was produced by Nick Launay at Studio Ferber in Paris in March–April 2004 with Cave splitting drumming duties for the two parts, with Jim Sclavunos on ‘Abattoir Blues’ and Thomas Wydler on ‘Lyre Of Orpheus’.

The entire album was completed in twelve days, and notably, the last track on the album, ‘O Children’, was featured in the 2010 film ‘Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part One’. The song is also referenced as an achievement in Lego Harry Potter: Years 5-7.

This edition, approved personally by Nick Cave, is finally available again on it’s original format.


LP / CD Tracklisting:
Abbatoir Blues
Get Ready For Love
Cannibal’s Hymn
Hiding All Away
Messiah Ward
There She Goes, My Beautiful World
Nature Boy
Abattoir Blues
Let The Bells Ring
Fable Of The Brown Ape

The Lyre Of Orpheus
The Lyre Of Orpheus
Babe, You Turn Me On
Easy Money
Carry Me
O Children

DVD (With CD/DVD Version Only)
Audio (Dolby Digital Surround Sound / DTS Surround Sound / Stereo)
‘Abattoir Blues’
‘The Lyre Of Orpheus’
She’s Leaving You
Under This Moon
Hiding All Away (Live At Maida Vale)
There She Goes My Beautiful World (Live At Maida Vale) 
Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 13)
Nature Boy
Get Ready For Love (Live)

Back to top