Various Artists

Eskimonde - A Decade Of Eskimo Recordings

Image of Various Artists - Eskimonde - A Decade Of Eskimo Recordings
Record Label
Eskimo Recordings

About this item

Eskimo Recordings bring us a special luxurious 5xCD 'Best Of' box set, finished with gold foil and including a fold-out poster featuring all of the Eskimo artwork.

The two first CDs are retrospective and select the very best from our extensive back catalogue. CD 3 includes 12 new and unreleased remixes from the likes of DJ Harvey, Solomun, Deetron, Moonlight Matters... To conclude in style, there are two bonus mixes from The Glimmers, including a few exclusives too.

John Burgess September 2012:
“I was working as editor at dance magazine Jockey Slut when the first Eskimo compilation arrived in the year 2000. It immediately caused a stir with the erudite staff. Firstly the artwork and packaging was a cut above the rest: unfashionably lime green, on a matt card containing minimal information and the statement ‘Contains 100% Pure Emotion’. It also came from Ghent in Belgium and wasn’t the banging techno R&S had made the city renowned for.”

Beginning with Harry Thumann’s 'Underwater' (which annoyed someone in the office because they had been the proudowner of a rare copy for many years) and featuring 70s disco and funk by the likes of War and Fatback Band. There was also the deathless pop soul of Hall & Oates’ 'I Can’t Go For That' (which was reprised later as a sample on De La Soul’s 'Say No Go', the closing track) but also obscure acid hip house tracks like KC Flight’s Planet E and new soul gem 'Revival' by Martine Girault. We didn’t know what Eskimo was, who Dirk, Mo & Benoelie were who had compiled this triple vinyl selection but we could tell this was a labour of love and we were keen to know more.

The compilations that followed stuck to the Eskimo ethos that new and old music, when well selected, could form something fresh. For want of a better word it was balearic in attitude, akin to DJ Alfredo’s approach in Ibiza’s Amnesia in the late 80s. What united this music was its timeless quality and originality. Volumes 24 plucked nuggets like Laidback’s 70s mood-pop Bakerman and juxtaposed it with the pervhouse 'I Called U' from Lil Louis. Relatively well known tracks like Frankie Knuckles 'Your Love' were included but so were offbeat curios like Dubtribe Soundsystem’s Do It Now and rarities like Felix Da Housecat’s 'My Life Muzik'.

The music within Eskimonde is so far removed from the synthetic throwaway world of EDM. This music is well-heeled, organic and sensuous, teetering on the edge of disco and rock, the pace hypnotic to coax you into a trance without the need for theatrics and histrionics. It will of course be beautifully packaged like it’s predecessors and cherished by its owners.


CD1: Retrospective Part 1
01. Ilya Santana - Transborder (Letherette Remix)
02. Hot Toddy Feat. Ron Basejam - I Need Love (Morgan Geist’s Love Dub)
03. Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas - Boney M Down
04. Aeroplane - Caramellas (Original)
05. Simone Fedi - Bitter Devotion (Ewan Pearson Extended Remix)
06. Downtown Party Network - Days Like These (Vocal)
07. Bottin & Rodion - Galli (Give It Up) (Edit)
08. Hiem - Clubscene Popscene (A Just Us Diskopop Version)
09. Stratus - Footprints
10. Reverso 68 - Piece Together (Todd Terje Spinning Star Mix)
11. Low Motion Disco - Things Are Gonna Get Easier (Sebastien Tellier Vocal Remix)
12. Allez Allez - African Queen (Quiet Village Dub)

CD2: Retrospective Part 2
01. Low Motion Disco - Love Love Love (Aeroplane Mix)
02. LSB - Original Highway Delight
03. Maelstrom - Petrichor
04. Aeroplane - Without Lies (Breakbot Remix)
05. Reverso 68 - Tokyo Disko Part 1
06. In Flagranti - Personal Angst
07. Visti & Meyland - Yes Maam (All Nite Long) (Trentemøller Remix)
08. Allez Allez - Allez Allez (Lindstrom & Prins Thomas Remix)
09. Dance Disorder - My Time (Radio Slave's Rekids Tribe Mix)
10. The Neon Judgement - TV Treated (Tiga's Treated Vox)
11. The Sexmachines - Okay (Whitey Mix)

CD3: Remixed
01. Aeroplane - We Can't Fly (Oliver Remix)
02. Low Motion Disco - Love Love Love (Solomun Edit)
03. Kris Menace Presents Stars On 33 - Something You Can Feel (Reverso 68 Remix)
04. West Phillips - (I'm Just A) Sucker For A Pretty Face (Surrender! Remix)
05. Dirty Minds - I'm For Pleasure (Claptone Remix)
06. L.H.A.S. INC. - A Feeling (It's A Fine Line Remix)
07. Aeroplane - I Don't Feel (Deetron Remix)
08. Dr. Beat From San Sebastian - Mediterraneo (Dj Harvey Remix)
09. Blende - Fake Love (The Living Islands ‘Tropical Doom’ Dub)
10. Jean Winner - Alive And Kicking (Zimmer Remix)
11. Drop Out Orchestra - Sun Machine (diskJokke Remix)
12. Allez Allez - African Queen (Moonlight Matters 'I Love Grace Jones' Remix)

CD4: Bonus Mix 1
01. The Glimmers - Mo's Selection

5CD: Bonus Mix 2
01. The Glimmers - Dave's Selection

Back to top