Key To The Kuffs (Butter Version Deluxe Edition)

Image of JJ DOOM - Key To The Kuffs (Butter Version Deluxe Edition)
Record Label

About this item

JJ produced all the tracks, DOOM provided the bulk of the vocals and compiled the cut and paste skits. DOOM recorded the album while ‘banished’ from the States and living in London. He references British culture throughout the album, name dropping British institutions, and possibly being the first emcee to reference My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding. Jneiro recording the beats in the Dirty South, got into a UK state mind, and turned in heavy hip hop production that leans towards grime, dubstep and British techno.

The album will appeal to fans of classic DOOM material. JJ's tough, far out hip hop production will appeal to fans of
 J Dilla, Flying Lotus and El-P.

‘Key To The Kuffs (Butter Version Deluxe Edition)’ features 4 new JJ DOOM tracks including a new guest vocal by Del The Funky Homosapien, and remixes courtesy of Beck, Clams Casino, BADBADNOTGOOD, Thom Yorke / Jonny Greenwood , Dave Sitek. Other guest appearances from Beth Gibbons (Portishead), Damon Albarn (Gorillaz) and Khujo (Goodie Mob). Album artwork is by graffiti artist Steve Powers aka ESPO.


CD 1:
1. Waterlogged
2. Guv’nor
3. Banished
4. Bite The Thong Ft. Damon Albarn
5. Rhymin Slang
6. Dawg Friendly
7. Borin Convo
8. Snatch That Dough
9. Gmo Ft. Beth Gibbons
10. Bout The Shoes
11. Winter Blues
12. Still Kaps
13. Retarded Fren
14. Viberian Sun Pt.2
15. Wash Your Hands

Bonus Disc:
1. Bookhead (New Track)
2. Pause Tape (New Track)
3. The Signs Ft. Mr Gone (New Track)
4. Viberian Son Ft. Del The Funky Homosapien (New Version W/ New Doom Vocal)
5. Guv’nor (Badbadnotgood Version W/ New Doom Vocal)
6. Rhymin Slang (Dave Sitek Remix)
7. Retarded Fren (Thom Yorke & Jonny Greenwood Version)
8. Bookfiend (Clams Casino Version)
9. Banished (Beck Remix) (New Track)

Back to top