hip hop . wonky-hop . alt r&b


Genre pick of the week Cover of The Beats: Our Vinyl Weighs A Ton OST by Madlib.
'The Beats' contains 10 tracks of instrumental hip-hop created by Madlib for the Stones Throw film Our Vinyl Weighs A Ton. This is producer's first original soundtrack and first 10-inch vinyl release. The beats and breaks on the album are typically Madlib; off the wall, funky, odball, stoned and as many miles away from the mainstream as you'd want them to be. Snippets of rap vocals fly in and out of the tracks, and there are plenty of between-track skits and crazy samples too.

This album is issued with two different sleeves (girls on one, skull & bong on the other) each wrapped with a custom, removable card, designed in the style of the Boss SP-303 sampler.

The Mighty Mocambos With Afrika Bambaataa

Hot Stuff

An outstanding exclusive 45 from the ongoing killer collaboration of the Mighty Mocambos and Afrika Bambaataa, who deliver a surprising cover version of the Rolling Stones’ 1976 single “Hot Stuff” (from the album ‘Black & Blue’).

While the Jagger / Richards-penned original vaguely flirts with the disco-funk sound of the era, this rework out funks it in true and inventive Mocambo style, bringing the song closer to its intial inspiration and stretching it further out into a banging street funk jam. Afrika Bambaataa makes you wonder who the funk Mick Jagger is, and fellow Zulu Nation members Charlie Funk and Deejay Snoop top it all up with P-funk-style vocals and talkbox. The jam continues on the flipside with an exclusive part 2 including more beats, breaks and helium voices.

Back to top